Contributing to breast cancer research

It is now over six years ago that part of my body was cut off because of cancer. A part of that breast still exists and may be helping researchers get a better understanding of how breast cancer works. I donated the tumour to a tissue bank which was being set up centrally in the UK so that researchers could have access to tissue samples. Maybe my tumour has contributed to this piece of research which popped up on the BBC website today. http://www.breastcancercampaign.org/articles/researchers-identify-seven-types-of-breast-cancer-for-more-accurate-prognosis

I would like to think that a part of me is helping research and it is research that is easy for me to give to, because I no longer need the original sample. The tissue bank that I donated my tumour to was, as I understood it, open to all valid researchers who had a valid research objective. This may be the most important way that someone with breast cancer can contribute without donating money, walking or running for a cure. This is a way that each of us can Pay It Forward to benefit those who have yet to be diagnosed.

Leave a Reply

Health Communications and Health Advocacy

With deep understanding, health communicators can engage and inspire change, whether in individuals or in society as a whole.

MBCNbuzz

...the proactive voice of the metastatic breast cancer community...

The Sarcastic Boob

Determined to Manage Breast Cancer with the Same Level of Sarcasm with which I Manage Everything Else

Telling Knots

About 30% of people diagnosed with breast cancer at any stage will develop distal metastasis. I am one.

The Riverford Blog

News from the farm

