Wouldn’t it be lovely?

Eliza just wanted a nice warm bed and one enormous chair … wouldn’t life be wonderful if it was really that simple. But then, couldn’t life be really that simple if we really wanted it to be. If we stripped away all the things that we don’t really need, and for that matter don’t really want and just settled for what we need in life. There are no guarantees in life, there are no certainties except death and taxes and I for one am far too aware of the former and now no longer earn enough to pay much of the latter. But the question is has the quality of my life really diminished that much? Maybe it is a sad reflection on my life, but I don’t think that the quality of my life has diminished that much in the things that matter. I own my home, which has always been my one saviour in life, but then I didn’t fritter away the money I inherited from my parents I invested it in a house. I could, of course, have gone round the world, but I am not so sure there in anywhere in the world that I would rather be than in dear old Blighty. Maybe I have never had high expectations of life, and I have certainly never had much ambition but then I have never really wanted material things in life.

Maybe it comes from having older parents and not really having had new things in life. My clothes as a child were made by my mother, my bicycles were second hand, I didn’t get everything I wanted. I never had the big troll like Maria, or the doll that walked when you moved her shoulders but then that is the real world and we don’t always get what we want.

I was writing something earlier on a UK forum about the way that Metastatic Breast Cancer is so often portrayed as having to make treatment decisions when you have been diagnosed with MBC and then going straight to making the decision to stop treatment and the end of life. I just isn’t that simple. There IS something in between the two and there should be a lot more information about that. About the fact that it is perfectly normal to be angry, terrified, determined, stubborn, confident and unable to face the world, and that these will come in no particular order and maybe in groups of conflicting emotions or each in their own time. Metastatic Breast Cancer may be incurable, at the moment, but it doesn’t mean that we have to live without hope. Yes … I did say HOPE.

If I went to see the Taj Mahal, would I see the amazing image of a building that I see in a photograph? Or will there be so many people there that I can’t experience that magic moment to savour its beauty. Will it rain? Will there be some really annoying people there? Will it really be much smaller than I have imagined it to be? Will I be able to get that perfect shot without someone in the way? Would the Great Wall of China really be that Great? Or is in not so impressive that close up? Is it really the only man-made thing that you can see from space? But then, do I really need answers to any of these questions? Isn’t life really just about the ordinary things in life?

In the end life is ordinary but then so is hope. It is something that should just be a part of every day and it should not be taken away from us. Where there is hope there is imagination and the potential for anything to happen. But then, isn’t hope really faith? Faith isn’t being sure of what the future brings, or being sure of what you believe because faith is doubt. If you were absolutely sure about something you wouldn’t need faith. I am not sure about the future, but I do hold out hope for it and I have faith in it.

If anyone actually understands any of there ramblings, award yourself a Gold Star!

Leave a Reply

Health Communications and Health Advocacy

With deep understanding, health communicators can engage and inspire change, whether in individuals or in society as a whole.

MBCNbuzz

...the proactive voice of the metastatic breast cancer community...

The Sarcastic Boob

Determined to Manage Breast Cancer with the Same Level of Sarcasm with which I Manage Everything Else

Telling Knots

About 30% of people diagnosed with breast cancer at any stage will develop distal metastasis. I am one.

The Riverford Blog

News from the farm

