Why isn’t there more info about good nutrition?

Science is quick to tell us that diet is a big factor in the risks of developing cancer of any type.  Unlike the correlation between tobacco and lung cancer the contribution of diet to developing other cancers cannot be as clearly reduced to just a few things.  It isn’t like having a nut allergy where they can clear say that if you eat nuts you will have X reaction.  In fact when you think about it science gives the impression that it has more answers in the ‘battle’ against cancer than it really does.  This, of course, is partly the PR surrounding the concept that you must not scare anyone with the idea that they might develop cancer.  I can partly understand this, but in my experience actually having cancer is far more scary.  So I was interested to come across this –

http://www.wcrf.org/blog/nutrition-and-chronic-diseases/?utm_source=nutrition-and-chronic-diseases&utm_medium=webpage&utm_campaign=wcrfhome

“It’s often thought that nutrition is simply a passive reflection of dietary intake” and I feel that this is the approach that Oncologists take.  How many have been told that diet makes no difference and that the patient can eat what they like.  How many times when a patient has lost weight are they put on a high dairy and fat diet with lots of sugar and other empty calories to ‘build them up’.

I was talking to the gentleman in the next chair who was have adjuvant chemo for, I think, bowel cancer.  He was asked if he wanted sugar in his tea and he turned to me and said that because he had lost weight he had been told that he didn’t need to cut back on his sugar intake.  Well, to me he looked to be a healthy weight as he was … but I don’t know the details and I didn’t feel that I should say that sugar is not good.  He has faith in his oncologist and surgeon that they ‘got it all’ and I didn’t want to burst any of the bubbles they have been blowing at him.  Hopefully he will be ‘one of the lucky ones’ but I wonder what advice he has been given about diet post-cancer.

Here I stand up and put my hand high up in the air to say that I am overweight and do not eat perfectly, but I do try.  The main problem I have is that because I live alone and work odd hours I can’t often be bothered to make the effort to have a proper meal.  Of course this is also related to depression and what the hell is the point because no one cares anyway.  I am trying to address this and get back on course by making myself have a healthy smoothies in the morning to start my day off right.  There is also the fact that my house is such a mess that I just don’t know where to start to sort it out, and that I need a new cooker because two of the rings on my hob haven’t worked for over 10 years and the oven temperature is unreliable (to be polite).  So here I am going on at people to do things that I don’t do myself all the time.  Advice at its best – do as I say and not as I do.  I admit this partly from the need to be honest about this, but also to let you know that I realise that it is not as easy as it sounds.  If it were we would all be supermodels … well actually that isn’t a good example, but you know what I mean.  Have a model figure from the 50’s or 60’s before it because essential to be an anorexic giraffe to be a model.

Having just said that it is 11.10 am and I am going to find something to make for a healthy lunch.  I am thinking along the lines of an organic wholefood pasta and vegetable bake … now lets see what I have in stock at the moment …

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Health Communications and Health Advocacy

With deep understanding, health communicators can engage and inspire change, whether in individuals or in society as a whole.

MBCNbuzz

...the proactive voice of the metastatic breast cancer community...

The Sarcastic Boob

Determined to Manage Breast Cancer with the Same Level of Sarcasm with which I Manage Everything Else

Telling Knots

About 30% of people diagnosed with breast cancer at any stage will develop distal metastasis. I am one.

The Riverford Blog

News from the farm

