What am I giving up for Lent? Why cancer of course

I was wondering what to give up for Lent.  Ok, so it has started already but I was inspired by a post on a forum of the perfect thing to give up for Lent.  Cancer.

I could have chosen dark chocolate (ouch), alcohol (but I don’t drink)*, annoying people (it is the only thing I actually really do well), having fun (but, believe me, life IS too short for that) and then I had the inspiration to give up the one thing that in so many ways is central to my life; the one thing that I think about every day … I am going to make the ultimate sacrifice and give up cancer.

I realise that this is selfish of me, and that cancer may not survive without me but there are times in one’s life when you have to make sacrifices.  Times when you have to put yourself out there and be brave.  Times when you just have to go without … and this is one of them.  I am going to boldly go where I have never been before.  I am going to climb every mountain and ford every stream; follow every rainbow till I find my dream … screech … thud … haven’t I heard that somewhere else before?  Am I already in my dream?  Sounds like Music to my ears.  Actually I am beginning to wonder if the Champagne I drank on Monday has gone to my brain and not left.

I will be going to the city of Bath next week where I may have to purge my soul in the Thermae Spa http://www.thermaebathspa.com/ so that I can repent of my sins.  If this comes to pass I will think of all of you.  I may take tea in the Pump Rooms or dance in the Assembly Rooms, or just sit in a coffee shop and read a good book.  It all just depends on the weather, and whether I can be bothered to do anything that energetic.

Actually I am not sure that I can even imagine a life without cancer now.  We have knowingly co-existed for 5 years and 5 months.  I have known that it will be with me for the rest of my days for 5 years and 1 month, but for forty days and forty nights it will be cast out.  However I no longer regret its intrusion into my life because my life is so much better, so much more fulfilling and happy than it was B.C. – before cancer.  I have finally found that it is not the case that in the midst of life we are in death, but that in the midst of death we are in life.

Yesterday I was 53 years old.  Now for many that would not be a cause of celebration, but for me?  Well I think I had the best birthday ever yesterday.  I had lunch in a new sandwich bar/café just up the road from where I work, then after work I met my brother and family at the Hare and Hounds for a delicious meal and a cuddle with my three-month-old great niece.  I have Afternoon Tea and a rather posh local hotel to look forward to, and the difficult decision of who to take with me.  My niece Lucy strongly suggested that it should be her!  Watch this space.

So, cancer my ‘friend’, we must part for the duration of Lent.  I must resist all temptations to have you back, at least before Easter, but we will probably meet again.  Such is life.

 

*Except for this Monday when I had a glass and a half of Champagne for my birthday celebration with work friends.  This probably doubles the amount of alcohol I have had in my entire life!

1 Comment

  1. Vicki,

    My name is Michael Foti and I am the Director of Business Development and Syndication for Empowered Doctor. Our company, Empowered Doctor, focuses on the latest healthcare news. Currently, we are news affiliates of The Chicago Tribune, Arizona Central, and CBSNewYork, supplying their website’s health sections with the latest advances against cancer. Over the course of our extensive research on the topic of breast cancer, we came across your blog and I found it to have a plethora of great information and I believe it would be very appealing to our readers. We’ve recently launched a program to identify and publcizie someof the top breast cancer-related blogs on the web. As such, I’d like to congratulate you as your blog has been selected as one of Empowered Doctor’s Top Breast Cancer Blogs. I’ve included the code below which will allow you to copy and paste it into your site in order to display your award badge. Again, I’d like to congratulate you on your selection, and if you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. Additionally, be sure to visit both CBSNewYork.com/health (on the right hand side under advances against cancer) and ChicagoTribune.com/health (and then click the cancer central tab) to see the continuous work we do for the fight againstcancer.

    One of the perks of being selected an Empowered Doctor Top Blog is being featured on a dedicated page on our website, as well as being profiled in upcoming articles. We would greatly appreciate you displaying your award badge, as many of our other nominees have. A few examples are: http://breastcancerbydrruddy.com/ , http://journeyingbeyondbreastcancer.com/ , and http://bethlgainer.blogspot.com/ .

    I’m unable to include the code for the award badge within this post, but please email me at michaeljfoti@gmail.com and I’d be glad to provide it to you.

    Again, congratulations on your selection and if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Leave a Reply

Health Communications and Health Advocacy

With deep understanding, health communicators can engage and inspire change, whether in individuals or in society as a whole.

MBCNbuzz

...the proactive voice of the metastatic breast cancer community...

The Sarcastic Boob

Determined to Manage Breast Cancer with the Same Level of Sarcasm with which I Manage Everything Else

Telling Knots

About 30% of people diagnosed with breast cancer at any stage will develop distal metastasis. I am one.

The Riverford Blog

News from the farm

