For the love of a lady called Gladys.

Reply to a post from a heart broken husband who didn’t realise what HRT could do to his wife.  As a retired orthodontist he feels guilty that he wasn’t aware of its dangers and probably coming from a medical background thought than it could be trusted.

I totally understand your anger and it takes time to channel it.  I had a hysterectomy 10 years ago and I was recommended HRT as the ‘good outweighed any negatives’!  They already had evidence that I might have cancer, and the marker is a breast cancer marker, my mother had breast cancer at the age of 53 and still the surgeon and my GP pushed it at me despite my reservations.  I took it half heartedly for maybe a year.

Five years ago I found a lump in my breast which they decided was Stage II, I was 47 years old.  They ignored my reply to their question about pain elsewhere in my body for a few months until an x-ray finally showed that my hip was about to collapse because of the size of the tumour and I was admitted from the chemo clinic where I had gone for my next lot of adjuvant Xeloda, to orthopaedics to have a hip replacement.  I might add that the original x-ray taken had not been reported on so I had to ask two months later if it had shown any problems and then another x-ray was done.

Sadly the medical profession has become blinkered into only seeing ‘their’ part of a human being.  Quite what they think I was walking around using a stick at 47 was about I don’t know, but I was raised to just get on with things.  They can no longer see the bigger picture…and I’m not going on with this as it will upset me.  It has taken a long time to try and put this behind me and remember that we can all, and do, make mistakes, but so many?

There are those who truly believe that modern medicine and Big Pharma are working for the patient.  I no longer believe that.  Medicine has become about money, about science always being right, about the patient always being ignorant of what is happening to them, and I get the impression that many tend to think of us as Lab Rats in a big experiment in which our humanity has been forgotten.  I went out and found my own hope when conventional medicine gave me none.  I take supplements I have researched, Chinese Herbal Medicine, use Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction, have changed my diet, gone organic whenever possible, have acupuncture and relexology, and I don’t tell my oncologist because I know the reaction I would get.  I do what I feel is right for me and that is what really matters.  Statistically I have been dead for two years, but I am not a statistic any more than I am a lab rat.

Good luck with your campaign and don’t give up on that at all, just try and let go of the anger and remember the love and joy of having had Gladys in your heart and soul because it is there where she will always be alive.

Leave a Reply

Health Communications and Health Advocacy

With deep understanding, health communicators can engage and inspire change, whether in individuals or in society as a whole.

MBCNbuzz

...the proactive voice of the metastatic breast cancer community...

The Sarcastic Boob

Determined to Manage Breast Cancer with the Same Level of Sarcasm with which I Manage Everything Else

Telling Knots

About 30% of people diagnosed with breast cancer at any stage will develop distal metastasis. I am one.

The Riverford Blog

News from the farm

